Inaugural Miami Open Wheelchair Invitational

The Miami Open tennis tournament shares the Hard Rock Stadium courts starting Tuesday with the inaugural Miami Open Wheelchair Invitational.

Director James Blake believes fans coming to see top ranked players will be impressed with the eight athletes.

Wheelchair tennis made its first appearance at the 1992 Paralympics in Barcelona and has been a part of all four Grand Slams since 2007.

Japan’s Shingo Kunieda, four-time Paralympic gold medalist and winner of 28 major singles titles, will be the tournament director with Grand Slam champions, Great Britain’s Alfie Hewett, Gordon Reid, and Argentina’s Gustavo Fernandez are all confirmed for the Men’s Player Field.

The tournament will also feature Netherlands Diede De Groot, United States Maylee Phelps, Dana Mathewson, and Columbia’s Angelica Bernal will all participate in the Women’s Player Field.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content